Sherlock Holmes gets a modern makeover… and steals my heart

So, after a long bout of curiosity, I finally gave in and watched BBC’s Sherlock, and boy am I glad I did.  Next to True Blood, it is now my favorite show.  Humor, mystery, jealous and desperate coppers.  The characters are dynamic, funny and spot on.  Sherlock manages to pull off brilliant with the slightest moments of sensitivity.  Dr. Watson is tolerant but not a pushover, and the two of them play off each other like they’ve been doing it since birth.

I mean, they’re so good together that I am halfway tempted to write slash for them, something I’ve never done.  Like ever.

I can barely wait until series 3.  ::rubs hands together gleefully.::

About Laura Barnes

I spent most of my gypsy childhood traveling the US in the back seat of a car with my nose stuck in a book. After discovering the expansive world of Star Trek at age 12, I quickly became invested. From there it was a wondrous journey from aliens to dragons to demons, the quirkier the better! I began writing stories of my own, but by college had begun to focus my talents into a more marketable field: journalism. I invested heavily in my career, earning a fellowship to the University of Montana. But, after a series of health problems and the uneasy realization that I wasn't happy with my choices despite my success, I spent some time finding myself. Eventually my love for writing resurfaced, and I now devote myself to a melding of interests: creating scifi and fantasy stories with a social twist, and urban homesteading. I live happily on Maryland's Eastern shore with my wonderful husband, three small dogs, a odd ball troop of cats, and eight backyard hens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment